Popular Psychology Books

Sort by :
Showing 1 to 30 of 623 items
1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | .. | 21 | Next >
Scattered Minds: The Origins and Healing of Attention Deficit Disorder

Scattered Minds: The Origins and Healing of Attention Deficit Disorder

by Gabor Mate

  • Paperback £10.99

Scattered Minds explodes the myth of attention deficit disorder as genetically based - and offers real hope and advice for children and adults who live with the condition.

Gabor Mate is a... (more)

When the Body Says No: The Cost of Hidden Stress

When the Body Says No: The Cost of Hidden Stress

by Gabor Mate

  • Paperback £10.99

Can a person literally die of loneliness? Is there a connection between the ability to express emotions and Alzheimer's disease? Is there such a thing as a 'cancer personality'?

Drawing on deep... (more)

Hold on to Your Kids: Why Parents Need to Matter More Than Peers

Hold on to Your Kids: Why Parents Need to Matter More Than Peers

by Gabor Mate, Gordon Neufeld

  • Paperback £10.99

'Mate's book will make you examine your behaviour in a new light' Guardian

'bold, wise and deeply moral. [Mate] is a healer to be cherished' Naomi Klein, author of No Logo and The Shock... (more)

This Too Shall Pass: Stories of Change, Crisis and Hopeful Beginnings

This Too Shall Pass: Stories of Change, Crisis and Hopeful Beginnings

by Julia Samuel

  • Hardback £13.49 (RRP : £14.99 save £1.50)

If change is the natural order of things, why do so many people struggle with the milestones of life - from first jobs and first loves to children leaving home and retirement?

We live in a... (more)

Sex and the Psyche: The Truth About Our Most Secret Fantasies

Sex and the Psyche: The Truth About Our Most Secret Fantasies

by Brett Kahr

  • Paperback £21.99

What's going on in your head when you go to bed? We talk about sex increasingly openly today, but when it comes to our most private fantasies it's often a different matter.

Here psychotherapist... (more)

Tea with Winnicott

Tea with Winnicott

by Brett Kahr

  • Paperback £24.99

Donald Winnicott is currently the most popular author in contemporary psychoanalysis. His writings are cited in bibliographies even more frequently than those of Sigmund Freud. And yet how many... (more)

The Examined Life: How We Lose and Find Ourselves

The Examined Life: How We Lose and Find Ourselves

by Stephen Grosz

  • Paperback £9.99

This book is about learning to live. In simple stories of encounter between a psychoanalyst and his patients, The Examined Life reveals how the art of insight can illuminate the most complicated,... (more)

Surviving Lockdown: Human Nature in Social Isolation

Surviving Lockdown: Human Nature in Social Isolation

by David Cohen

  • Paperback £11.69 (RRP : £12.99 save £1.30)

2020 has been the year of the virus, and it will not be a mere footnote in history. This book reflects on the unprecedented changes to our lives and the impact on our behaviour as we lived through... (more)

On Kindness

On Kindness

by Adam Phillips, Barbara Taylor

  • Paperback £7.99

What is kindness? Does it make us happier? And does it have a place in a selfish world? Psychoanalyst Adam Phillips and historian Barbara Taylor present an elegant, thoughtful and concise analysis of... (more)

The Journey of Soul Initiation: A Field Guide for Visionaries, Evolutionaries and Revolutionaries

The Journey of Soul Initiation: A Field Guide for Visionaries, Evolutionaries and Revolutionaries

by Bill Plotkin

  • Paperback £16.19 (RRP : £17.99 save £1.80)

Soul initiation is an essential spiritual adventure that most of the world has forgotten - or not yet discovered. Here, visionary ecopsychologist Bill Plotkin maps this journey, one that has not been... (more)

Becoming Yourself: Overcoming Mind Control and Ritual Abuse

Becoming Yourself: Overcoming Mind Control and Ritual Abuse

by Alison Miller

  • Paperback £56.99

In contrast to the author's previous book, Healing the Unimaginable: Treating Ritual Abuse and Mind Control, which was for therapists, this book is designed for survivors of these abuses. It takes... (more)

A Brain Of My Own: A memoir about dissociation dissolved

A Brain Of My Own: A memoir about dissociation dissolved

by Wendy Hoffman

  • Paperback £15.29 (RRP : £16.99 save £1.70)

A Brain of My Own is about slavery, about brains stolen in childhood and before; brains that have been intruded upon, stopped, shrunk, paralyzed. We know about the history of people whose bodies were... (more)

Mindful Compassion: Using the Power of Mindfulness and Compassion to Transform Our Lives

Mindful Compassion: Using the Power of Mindfulness and Compassion to Transform Our Lives

by Paul Gilbert, Choden

  • Paperback £12.99

Based on the latest work from Professor Paul Gilbert OBE, bestselling author of The Compassionate Mind, and Buddhist expert Choden. Professor Gilbert has spent the past twenty years developing a new... (more)

Radical Uncertainty: Decision-making for an unknowable future

Radical Uncertainty: Decision-making for an unknowable future

by Mervyn King, John Kay

  • Paperback £14.99

This major, critically acclaimed work asks a vitally important question for today: when uncertainty is all around us, and the facts are not clear, how can we make good decisions?

We do not know... (more)

The Master and His Emissary: The Divided Brain and the Making of the Western World - New Edition

The Master and His Emissary: The Divided Brain and the Making of the Western World - New Edition

by Iain McGilchrist

  • Paperback £14.99

A new edition of the bestselling classic - published with a special introduction to mark its 10th anniversary. This pioneering account sets out to understand the structure of the human brain - the... (more)

Why Love Matters: How Affection Shapes a Baby's Brain: Second Edition

Why Love Matters: How Affection Shapes a Baby's Brain: Second Edition

by Sue Gerhardt

  • Paperback £19.99

Why Love Matters explains why loving relationships are essential to brain development in the early years, and how these early interactions can have lasting consequences for future emotional and... (more)

Love in a Time of Loneliness

Love in a Time of Loneliness

by Paul Verhaeghe

  • Paperback £18.99
AvgRating1AvgRating2AvgRating3AvgRating4AvgRating5 (1)

Noted Belgian psychoanalyst Paul Verhaeghe shows us what it is about sex that both keeps us moving and inhibits us at the same time. The first essay, “The Impossible Couple”, is both a humorous and... (more)

The Personal Development Group: The Student's Guide

The Personal Development Group: The Student's Guide

by Chris Rose

  • Paperback £22.99

The personal development group is a feature of many counselling and psychotherapy trainings. How does it facilitate personal development? Could it be more effective? Looking from the perspective of... (more)

Sister Outsider

Sister Outsider

by Audre Lorde

  • Paperback £9.99

The woman's place of power within each of us is neither white nor surface; it is dark, it is ancient, and it is deep

The revolutionary writings of Audre Lorde gave voice to those 'outside the... (more)

Bodies

Bodies

by Susie Orbach

  • Paperback £9.99

In the past decades, the pressure to perfect and design our bodies has been unprecedented. Men are encouraged to surgically pump up their pecs, breast enhancement is a sweet sixteen birthday present... (more)

The Strange Order of Things: Life, Feeling, and the Making of Cultures

The Strange Order of Things: Life, Feeling, and the Making of Cultures

by Antonio Damasio

  • Paperback £12.99

The Strange Order of Things is a pathbreaking investigation into homeostasis, the condition that regulates human physiology within the range that makes possible not only survival but also the... (more)

In Writing

In Writing

by Adam Phillips

  • Paperback £9.99

A collection of literary essays like no other - exploring the deep connections between literature and psychoanalysis - from Britain's leading psychoanalyst. For Adam Phillips - as for Freud and many... (more)

Motherhood Missed: Stories from Women Who are Childless by Circumstance

Motherhood Missed: Stories from Women Who are Childless by Circumstance

by Lois Tonkin

  • Paperback £12.99

Many women expect to become mothers but are childless through social rather than biological reasons - perhaps they haven't met the right person or they prioritised career or education earlier in... (more)

Says Who?: The Struggle for Authority in a Market-Based Society

Says Who?: The Struggle for Authority in a Market-Based Society

by Paul Verhaeghe

  • Paperback £12.99

'We live in an extremely controlling society in which authority has disappeared ...traditional authority is lapsing into brute force ...and we ourselves must take the first steps towards creating a... (more)

Defeating Teenage Depression: Getting There Together

Defeating Teenage Depression: Getting There Together

by Roslyn Law

  • Paperback £9.99

Are you feeling down and irritable a lot of the time? Do relationships with your family and friends seem more complicated than they used to? Do you wish that someone would understand that you aren't... (more)

Coffee with Freud

Coffee with Freud

by Brett Kahr

  • Paperback £18.99
AvgRating1AvgRating2AvgRating3AvgRating4AvgRating5 (1)

This is the second volume in Brett Kahr’s ‘Interviews with Icons’ series, following on from Tea with Winnicott. Professor Kahr, himself a highly regarded psychoanalyst, turns his attention to the... (more)

Talk Talk: Effective Communication in Everyday Life

Talk Talk: Effective Communication in Everyday Life

by Mavis Klein

  • Paperback £7.99

Using the easily understood vocabulary of Transactional Analysis and her own original contribution to the theory, Mavis Klein presents a handbook that will vividly illuminate and clarify all the... (more)

Strictly Bipolar

Strictly Bipolar

by Darian Leader

  • Paperback £5.00

Strictly Bipolar is Darian Leader's treatise on the psychological disorder of our times. If the post-war period was called the 'Age of Anxiety' and the 1980s and '90s the 'Antidepressant Era', we now... (more)

The Asperkid's (Secret) Book of Social Rules: The Handbook of Not-so-obvious Social Guidelines for Tweens and Teens with Asperger Syndrome

The Asperkid's (Secret) Book of Social Rules: The Handbook of Not-so-obvious Social Guidelines for Tweens and Teens with Asperger Syndrome

by Jennifer Cook O'Toole

  • Paperback £13.99

Being a teen or tween isn't easy for anyone but it can be especially tough for Asperkids. Jennifer O'Toole knows; she was one! This book is a top secret guide to all of the hidden social rules in... (more)

Football Delirium

Football Delirium

by Chris Oakley

  • Paperback £18.99

In the tradition of Adam Phillips and Darian Leader, Chris Oakley shines his spotlight on the world of football and with wit and erudition looks at the question of why there is this worldwide... (more)

Sort by :
Showing 1 to 30 of 623 items
1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | .. | 21 | Next >
Sign up for our new titles email   Sign up to our postal mailing list   Sign up for postal updates