Making Psychotherapy More Effective with Unconscious Process Work

Author(s) : Dan Short

Making Psychotherapy More Effective with Unconscious Process Work

Book Details

  • Publisher : Routledge
  • Published : August 2021
  • Cover : Paperback
  • Pages : 190
  • Category :
    Individual Psychotherapy
  • Catalogue No : 95819
  • ISBN 13 : 9780367649654
  • ISBN 10 : 9780367649
Paperback
£28.79
RRP : £31.99
save £3.20
In stock, despatched within 24 hours
Free delivery worldwide
Add to basket
Add to wishlist

There are currently no reviews
Be the first to review

Leave a review

Making Psychotherapy More Effective with Unconscious Process Work is an essential text that seeks to educate readers on the astounding capabilities of unconscious intelligence to both gather information and engage in rapid cognition. By providing a comprehensive and easily understood overview of the recent research on unconscious processes, as well as clinical case material, this book provides readers with skills that will enable them to strategically engage these resources.

The first part of the book discusses the research-based principles that frame this growth-oriented approach towards psychotherapy. New discoveries about the surprising limitations of conscious self-governance force readers to reconsider the overall aim of psychotherapy. The second part explores several transtheoretical techniques, focusing on prediction, reimagining, mental contrasting, and incubated cognition. Case examples and key point summaries are used throughout, with the last chapter featuring reflective exercises. This book is essential reading for practicing psychotherapists, Ericksonian therapists, graduate students, and professors of psychotherapy.

Reviews and Endorsements

"The contents are original and an excellent blend of theory and practical tools. It's 'cutting edge' - I am not aware of anything quite like it. While it draws from Ericksonian ideas, it should have appeal to therapists across the theoretical gamut." - Michael F. Hoyt, PhD, author of Brief Therapy and Beyond: Stories, Language, Love, Hope, and Time.

"There are so many interesting things in this book that make reading it both enjoyable and educational. From Stroop tests to metaphors, to the powerful effects of imagination, you will find that this journey will reveal something more than gold or gems. It will reveal more of you, your clients and, I suggest, your life." Richard Hill, DPC, lead author of The Practitioner's Guide to Mirroring Hands.

"In the tradition of William James and Milton Erickson who believed that unconscious processes contain vital resources for problem-solving, and upon which we construct our conscious intentions, Dan Short has written an excellent book, expanding these insights for the 21st Century. He brilliantly explains through engaging stories how unconscious processes have many dimensions with various functions. In pointing out how important novelty is to unconscious processes, he offers novel and rich insights for all psychotherapists." - John B. Arden, PhD, author of Mind-Brain-Gene.

"Medicine seeks to heal physicality. Psychotherapy seeks to heal the non-material aspect of us with services designed to bring clarity and comfort when life's challenges threaten to overwhelm. Dr. Dan Short's aptly named Making Psychotherapy More Effective with Unconscious Process Work dives down into the aspect of psychotherapy spawned from beyond conscious awareness. Psychotherapists earn their mastery by riding on the invisibility of this mystery. By distilling an encyclopedia of knowledge into a 200+ page book, Short provides seasoned practitioners a way to confirm what they know about healing psychic wounds and beginners a valuable checklist of skills to acquire." - , LCSW, author of On Fertile Ground: Healing Infertility.

About the Author(s)

Dan Short, PhD, is director of the Milton H. Erickson Institute of Phoenix and former Assistant Director for the Milton H. Erickson Foundation. He has authored several books and book chapters on Ericksonian Therapy and is leading the effort to document the core competencies of Ericksonian Therapy. Currently teaching Clinical Hypnosis at the Southwest College of Naturopathic Medicine, he conducts consultation groups for professionals in the Phoenix metropolitan area, provides supervision of professionals in the United States and abroad, and presents seminars and workshops as visiting faculty at institutes around the world.

More titles by Dan Short

Customer Reviews

Our customers have not yet reviewed this title. Be the first add your own review for this title.

You may also like

Three Characters: Narcissist, Borderline, Manic Depressive

Three Characters: Narcissist, Borderline, Manic Depressive

Christopher Bollas

Price £16.19

save £1.80

The Cure for Psychoanalysis

The Cure for Psychoanalysis

Adam Phillips

Price £17.99

save £2.00

Sign up for our new titles email   Sign up to our postal mailing list   Sign up for postal updates